Make your own free website on

Enter content here

Back in 1985 Richard put together a VIDEO compilation of various Carpenters clips (many of which are used from the Make Your Own Kind Of Music TV Summer special.
1. We've Only Just Begun
2. Those Good Old Dreams
3. Superstar
4. Rainy Days and Mondays
5. All You Get From Love is a Love Song
6. Top of the World **
7. Ticket to Ride
8. Only Yesterday
9. Calling Occupants of Interplanetary Craft
10. Beechwood 4-5789
11. Touch Me When We're Dancing
12. Hurting Each Other
13. Please Mr. Postman
14. There's a Kind of Hush
15. (They Long to Be) Close to You *
This also includes "real music videos" that are considered MUSIC VIDEOS that would be played on VH1 or MTV. Those include the videos from MADE IN AMERICA.
* from the MAKE YOUR OWN KIND OF MUSIC summer TV Specials
** from the VERY 1ST CARPENTERS ABC Special

GOLD released in 2002.  There are NO Special features at all!

This DVD is included on:

  • "Gold" DVD only
  • "The Millennium Collection"
  • Gold: Sound and Vision

Also released in the UK in 1990 titled Only Yesterday.


INTERPRETATIONS was released in 1994 (VHS) and re-released in 2002 (DVD).

Although many of the songs are the same, more videos were used from TV Specials, such as Space Encounters (*) and Make Your Own Kind of Music TV Special (**), and the Music! Music! Music! special (^)

1. Without a Song  ^
2. Superstar **
3. Rainy Days and Mondays **
4. Reason to Believe **
6. (They Long to be) Close to You **
7. Calling Occupants of Interplanetary Craft *
8. Little Girl Blue *
9. Bless the Beasts and Children
10. We've Only Just Begun **
11. When I Fall In Love ^
12. From This Moment On  (outtake from Music! Music! Music!)
In Japan and the UK "Ticket to Ride" and "Please Mr. Postman" were included on the VHS edition.
DVD VERSION AVAILABLE. VHS VERSION is currently out of print.

Also released in a jewel case.

LIVE AT BUDOKAN 1974 (1996)

LIVE AT BUDOKAN unfortunatly is a Japanese-only release and probably will never be released to other countries.   It is said that it is only a Japanese release because the original master tape no longer exists, and all versions available ONLY include Japanese subtitles (which can be annoying at times).  This was released in Japan on VHS in 1996 and on DVD in 2000.

1. Prologue
2. Sound Check
3. Opening Medley:
Rainy Days and Mondays
Goodbye to Love
4. Top of the World
5. Help
6. Mr. Guder
7. (They Long to Be) Close to You
8. Jambalaya (On the Bayou)

Side 2:
1. Yesterday Once More
2. Oldies Medley:
Little Honda
The End of the World
Da Doo Ron Ron
Leader of the Pack
Johnny Angel
Book of Love
Johnny B. Goode
3. Sing
4. Sometimes
5. We've Only Just Begun
6. For All We Know
7. Credits
This is the ONLY concert EVER released of the Carpenters!  Many others exist, but Richard has no plans of releasing them at this time.
A unique Richard Carpenter done documentary which originally aired on PBS.  It features an ENCORE - not shown on PBS!
DVD and VHS include the following FULL performances:
(A Place to) Hideaway (from the Make Your Own Kind of Music special)
Potato Chip Commercial
Ave Maria (from the A Christmas Portrait special).

The worst part of this collection is the lack of FULL performances (like the Karen/ Ella Medley and Merry Christmas, Darling.
Nevertheless, a NICE documentary!